More of “what it says on the can”


One of the first things I picked up when I got here was right at the front desk, a pad of local area maps! Very nice maps, exactly the kind of thing I want to have when I’m somewhere new:

I especially like how each map caters to a different audience.  There’s the black & white square grid map that pretty much shows the zoning of the notable blocks.  Then there’s the colourful “fiesta!” map that has little pictures of all the places you might want to visit.

Let’s zoom in on the little area that I’m in:

I’m certain that the first thing that’ll jump right out at you is the god-damned McDonald’s.  Yeah, I’m visiting San Antonio, what I want now is a Big Mac!  No, really I don’t.  Not even close.  I cannot express just how disgusted I am that this is an important map feature.  The worst part being that if they didn’t put it on the map, they’d be forever assaulted by buttermuffins asking where they could find one.  *sigh*

Horrifically overblown rant aside, I’m at that Hilton across from that enormous Convention Centre.  The second thing that jumped out at me was the enormous white-petaled flower on a green background with a red center.  What’s that?  I was saved from my wondering when I looked out the window next to the elevator on the 15th floor:

Wow, it’s exactly what it looks like!  Which is what? I’m not sure.  Skateboard park? Roller-derby rink?  Don’t know for sure, can’t say from here.

So on the one hand I’m inordinately pleased that once again I’ve been provided something that is exactly what it says on the can, but at the same time I’m bothered that I still have no idea whatsoever of exactly what that is.  Dang.  What do I do about that?

Write a little story about it and move on with my life, apparently.  8 )

J

About J West

AKA "Task", a software developer. Hence, TaskWare.
This entry was posted in Trip To San Antonio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

