What does Dermatology mean? Lasers and tits! Woo!


This convention I’m at, until I got there I knew it only as the AAD.  Couldn’t even remember what that stood for.  The convention hall was easy enough to find (it’s about the size of three city blocks, difficult to miss that kind of thing!), but once I got inside I started wondering what part of the hall I should be headed to.  So I asked a nearby security guard “Is it this way to the convention?”  And he replied with another question.  It was one word, and it was a question, but I wasn’t sure what word he’d used.  “Pardon?” I say, and he gives me the same one word again.  Parsing it through my head a couple of times, I come up with one solid possibility for what he’s asking me: “Dermatology?”

Is that what the ‘D’ in ‘AAD’ is for? “Yes” I decide is the answer.  At which point he’s able to direct me towards the entrance.  So there’s a lesson for you, always know where you’re going.

Once I get in, I have a stroll around and have a look at the other booths here.  There’s an “all” booth for some reason.  Yeah, the detergent.  If the wife wasn’t violently allergic to commercial cleansers I might drop by there.

The first really cool thing I see is this:

The Dalek-like laser machine

The fact that they have this laser machine just sitting in front of the ad is really secondary to my interest here.  If you look closely at the top of that image, you’ll see some great quotes from those in the know: “first laser I would buy” and (even better!) “it’s my favorite laser”.  Damn! There are actually other people than me who are interested in having their own laser! And have been comparison shopping!  From what I can see of this machine, it’s not MY favourite laser though.  My favourite laser is the medium-range one with accuracy 7 that does 5d6 damage.  You can’t fire it without some serious heat sinks installed, but I just love the effectiveness.  I wonder if I should go talk to these people about how they can improve their laser?  Probably not.

 Anyway, topping lasers for “odd” was this:

Uh... it's for what exactly?

It looks like you stand on the scale, check your weight, and then get in the capsule? I was tempted to go find out more, but I imagine I’d then be tempted to really get in the capsule.  And maybe stay in stasis for the next century.  I really want that flying car, and that might be another 100 years coming.

Still, the most common thing I’m seeing is related to cosmetic surgery.  The absolute best poster/ad/anything I’ve seen at this convention is right here:

Look at these large firm breasts

I mean, on who is that not wildly effective? Is that not one of the best pieces of advertising you’ve ever seen? Are you not immensely interested? Is it just me?

It makes me wonder if there’s a special screening process involved in working that booth.  “Are you now or have you ever been a recipient of cosmetic surgery?  If yes, we might hire you!”

I’m afraid to go check, because I might not return.  If you never hear from me again, you know where to look.

About J West

AKA "Task", a software developer. Hence, TaskWare.
This entry was posted in Trip To New Orleans and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

