Generating Visual Studio, Music, and Chess


Time for me to just post about a couple seemingly unrelated items, because that’s one of the things you’re supposed to do when you’re blogging.

Let’s start out with some random assistance for any developer doing something very strange: Generating a solution file (yes, a *.sln file) for Visual Studio.

If you happen to be trying to do just such a thing, I have one very important thing to tell you: The project GUID values absolutely have to be in all uppercase.

Really, I kid you not.  Apparently one of the developers over at MS decided to use a String.Equals call instead of doing the obviously much more expensive Guid.Parse and Guid.Equals call.  If you want your generated solution file to work and it doesn’t, look for things like that that would cause a string comparison to fail.

Next is the song Night Moves, by Bob Seger and his Silver Bullet band.  It’s kind of weird, that every time I hear it I think of One Night In Bangkok, by Murray Head.  The link between them (entirely in my head I assure you) being Chess.  One of those songs is obviously all about chess, it was even the hit song from the musical.  The other?  Well, “ain’t if funny how the knight moves?” is what I always hear Bob Seger saying.  Gotta agree with him too, it’s definitely strange how the knight moves.  With or without autumn closing in.

And that of course leads me right into thinking about one of the many movies that I always wanted to see but wasn’t quite as good as I’d hoped when I did see it: Knight Moves.  Sometimes Christopher Lambert is the only good thing about the movie.  Ah well.

So there you have it, hard-core software development, pop music, musicals, a mediocre 90’s movie and Christopher Lambert.  Just a single day in my life and all these things come together.

There can be only one!

Damn, I was doing so well holding that in.  Ah well.

 

About J West

AKA "Task", a software developer. Hence, TaskWare.
This entry was posted in Life As We Know It, Software Development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

